Summers End

Today is officially the last day of summer. I love summer, sun filled days, boating, golf & amazing sunsets, but I must admit as much as I am a sun goddess, fall’s got a lot going for it. In fact, it some ways it might just be my favorite time of year.

Here are a few reasons I love fall.
Golfing & boating can carry on into the fall & can be absolutely beautiful! With the beautiful fall foliage colors to enjoy and the absence of blackflies & mosquitoes.

It is Pumpkin Spice Everything in the fall. Mm…mms….I love pumpkin! Pumpkin pie, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin bread & a pumpkin latte with whip cream. It doesn’t get much better than that.

Next to pumpkin my next favorite thing APPLES! safe_image

Real tasting apples freshly picked from the trees,not those mealy, tasteless summer ones either—crisp, juicy apples. I am fortunate enough to live within driving distance to the apple orchards where you are able to pick your own, or you can find them at every farmer’s stand along the way to the orchards at this time of year. My favorite apple by far is the Honey Crisp. My favorite desert, apple crisp.

Flannel Sheets & Duvets! Yes it’s time to say goodbye to the clammy pillowcases and cool cotton sheets, and snuggle in the fluffy, flannel & duvets that act as the strongest magnet in the world come morning.

One thing that happens in our household in the fall is hockey season gets underway & the recliner becomes my husband’s favorite place in the house. A true Leafs Fan. Yes, I know, but he still fantasies about them winning the Stanley Cup

One of my favorite holidays happens in the fall. Thanksgiving, not because of the turkey, stuffing, gravy and pie, although that’s not a bad part of the deal, but because it makes me stop and reflect, a time to look back & be thankful for important events. It’s not just about looking back for me, I use it as a time to look forward as well. What will I do to make a difference in the world? What acts of kindness can I share? I know it’s not something I can do by myself that will change the world, but together if we all do our part, share an act of kindness each day,we can make this a more peaceful world.

autumn_leaves_scene

Nobody likes to see the end of summer, but putting a positive spin on it does not make it sound so bad.
Happy fall my friends, get out and enjoy the beauty of fall.

Do you have a favorite season? Why?

“When we feel love and kindness toward others, it not only makes others feel loved and cared for, but it helps us also to develop inner happiness and peace.”
—The 14th Dalai Lama
Head Monk Of The Gelugpa Lineage Of Tibetan Buddhism

Leave a Reply

